Roles

As we discussed in the previous chapter, users are grouped into roles, which in turn have permissions assigned to them. By default, there are two roles within Drupal (although we have more now because of the ones we added in Chapter 3). These two roles are:

• anonymous users

• authenticated users

These roles can be edited, but they can neither be renamed nor deleted. This is why the Operations column in the table below is locked.

Name

Operations

anonymous user authenticated user

locked edit permissions locked edit permissions Add role

The anonymous user role is the role for any user who is not logged-in, and so the permissions associated with it are those which a guest user has. Whereas the role of an authenticated user suits all those users who are logged-in. Additional roles which are added can apply to any number of users. At this stage, we must select which users have which roles assigned to them. Later on in this book, we will look at how our users can change their roles and get more active within our network with features such as Organic Groups.

Editing the permissions of a role allows us to select which permissions are granted to users who have that role assigned to their account. New roles are simply created by entering the name of a new role into the text box and then clicking the Add role button and selecting the permissions to be granted to those users.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment