Handling Abusive Users

A community site of any reasonable size and popularity may eventually attract visitors with less-than-honorable intentions.

Administrators with the "administer users" permission may change a user's status to Blocked, which will prevent them from logging in. The blocked user then has only the rights of an anonymous user. Users may also be deleted entirely, although it's generally preferable to block users instead of deleting them, so that their name stays attached to any content that they have posted.

For more automated blocking, Drupal provides the ability to configure access rules, available at AdministersUser managements-Access rules (admin/user/rules), to help keep out (or specifically allow) users by username, email, or hostname. A couple of common examples are blocking any usernames that contain profanity, or preventing registration from free email services such as Hotmail.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment