User management

The way that Drupal allows us to differentiate the site capabilities of one person from another is by using roles. Let's take a look at how they are defined on this site.

Roles

On sites, where there will not be user accounts, the authenticated user role can be used to differentiate logged in users from site visitors. On a site with user accounts, the site visitor who creates an account and logs in will be the authenticated user, so an additional role is needed to differentiate any users who are supposed to have a greater level of privileges, such as company staff.

The same is true with our site. The subcontractors will be the authenticated users and we'll create a single role for company staff, management.

Roles

Roles allow you to fine tune the security and administration of Drupal. A role defines a group of users that have certain privileges as defined in user permissions. Examples of roles include: anonymous user, authenticated user, moderator, administrator and so on. In this area you will define the role names of the various roles. To delete a role choose "edit".

By default, Drupal comes with two user roles: ° Anonymous user: this role is used for users that don't have a user account or that are not authenticated.

° Authenticated user: this role is automatically granted to all logged in users. Name Operations anonymous user locked edit permissions authenticated user locked edit permissions management | Add role

0 0

Post a comment